Home Image-Pro General Discussions

Dynamic height measurement

Hi,
How can I measure the height of an object that is increasing in size? I am really new in ImagePro and I will highly appreciate any help. I need to create a macro to measure a specific height through a defined line. If you need any more information please let me know.

Thanks
Juan

Best Answers

• Answer ✓
    JuanMartin,

Another option would be to use Line profile tool (Measure tab).
    Merge all your images to a sequence, draw line profile as on your screenshot, add Edge detector that locates your point of interest (e.g. Falling Edge). 
    Then you just click the Collect button on Line profile tab and measurements from the origin of the edge point will be collected for all frames.

Yuri

• Answer ✓
    Do you have Excel on your computer? If not, you can save the data to TXT file: open Data Collector data table and save the data to a file from there.

Yuri

Answers

• Here is an example of what I am trying to do. I set a rectangle to reduce the area of the frames, created a baseline (which will always stay in the same position) and a vertical line, where I want to measure the distance from the baseline, to the place where the pixels turn from white to black i.e. the top of the moving object. 
  • 2018-02-06-170644

JuanMarin --

I believe I understand your problem.

I believe that you would like to measure the lowest point in the upper edge of a moving feature.

There look to be some complicating factors but here is an example which may give you some ideas.

I took an image of a SAW BLADE and turned it so that the UNKNOWN EDGE was on the right.  I did this for two reasons.  1)  It fits my screen better.  2) The measurement will be in order from TOP to BOTTOM rather than from the TALLEST TOOTH to the SHORTEST TOOTH.

After I turned the image (AA), I created a MASK of the BLADE (BB).

I then made a GRID IMAGE (CC) that would give me a SAMPLING MECHANISM.