Home Image-Pro General Discussions

How to extract raw x and y coordinates from the outline of counted objects?

Hi, I'm new to using Image-Pro Premier so there's probably an easy solution to this, although I can't seem to see it..

After counting objects, I am able to right-click and then create a mean centroid point of an object, which has x,y coordinates displayed in the measurement table. However, is there an easy way to extract corresponding x,y coordinates for all of the points that bound the outline of the object?

Thanks,
Chris

Answers

• Hi Chris,

Extracting outline points is not exposed in the UI, though you can get the coordinates using a macro:

Imports MediaCy.Addins.Measurements
    Imports MediaCy.IQL.ObjectManager

Public Sub PrintOutlineCoordinates
            Dim im As McImage=ThisApplication.ActiveImage
            If im Is Nothing Then Exit Sub'no image
            Dim md As McMMData=im.MeasurementsData
            ThisApplication.Output.Show
            For Each sf As McMMSubFeature In md.SubFeatures
                Dim s As String=sf.Name
                Dim points() As SINGLEPOINT=Nothing
                sf.GetFeatures.GetFeaturePoints(sf.FeatureIndex,points)
                For Each p As SINGLEPOINT In points
                    s+=" {" & p.x.ToString("F2") & "," & p.y.ToString("F2") & "}"
                Next
                ThisApplication.Output.PrintMessage(s)
            Next
        End Sub

Regards,

Yuri
  • Thanks for the quick response Yuri. I'm afraid I'm not savvy with macros though (sorry!), so I'm not even sure how to go about doing this. Is it easy to implement/where do I go to write the macro?
  • Ok, then I will make it easy for you. Just download the attached project, double click on it - it will be opened in Premier, then open Project explorer (on the Automate tab) and from there run SampleOutline|Module1|PrintOutlineCoordinates macro (be sure that the active image has some measurements).