Home Image-Pro General Discussions

Automatic Image Compression

Hi all,

I'm just learning to use Image Pro Premier Offline 9.1, & I'd like to learn how to write my own macros. My ultimate application is probably pretty advanced, so for now I'm just trying to break the process down into simpler individual steps.

When I open up my image files (.lifs), a bunch of multi-channel z-stack images pour out. Before I can begin working on them, the first thing I need to do is to compress the images into single channel .tiffs. Each image needs to be broken into at least two daughter images - one brightfield image & at least one fluorescent image. Manually turning off the channels I don't want, hitting "Apply", then doing an EDF, twice, for each image gets pretty time-consuming, so I'm looking for a way to automate this part of the process. I've tried using the "Record macro" feature & doing the process manually to see if the software could learn how to do this by watching me, but this doesn't seem to work. I think it might be because the software has no way to determine which image to select & which channels to turn off, but I'm honestly just guessing. I completely fumbling around in the dark with this, so any advice will be much appreciated. Thanks.

Answers

• Whoops. I just noticed that this is the wrong forum. I have reposted on the correct one. Please disregard this.
  • Hello Grant,

It is a good idea to start your macros by recording manual steps, however the resulting macro often needs a little bit of editing!

Here is a macro that loops on all channels of each loaded image set and produces an EDF image from each Z-stack. The macro is also attached as a project package. Of course, depending on the exact geometry of your images you might need to adjust some of the parameters.

Pierre
        Public Sub ExtractMacro()
            Dim docList, doc, zstack, edf

' Load the image sets without displaying them
            With Application.DocumentCommands.Open(Nothing)